Hit & Run Car Accidents
The nonprofit Transportation for America in Washington, D.C. did a study on the most dangerous metropolitan areas for pedestrians. The worst four are in the Sunshine State: Miami, Orlando, Tampa, and Jacksonville. David Goldberg, TFA spokesman, explains that approximately 400 pedestrians are fatally cut down by cars across the U.S. each month— "the equivalent of a jumbo jet crash." With one of the highest pedestrian-death rates in the world 76,000 pedestrians have been killed by vehicles in the U.S. since 1994. In 2008, 490 pedestrians were killed by cars in Florida, the most in any state. Additionally, South Florida consistently ranks high on the list for hit and run fatalities.
As Miami car accidents attorneys we know that hit & run incidents are a common occurrence in South Florida. If you are involved in an accident that involves personal injury or property damage, you have the legal responsibility to stop and exchange information. Florida law calls this the “Duty to Give Information and Render Aid”. You are required to provide your name, license information, address, and registration. If you hit a vehicle that is unattended, you should leave your information where the owner can find it. If you hit a pedestrian or you are involved in an accident and the other person is injured, you must give reasonable aid and call for emergency help.
If you are involved in a crash and one of the parties fails to give information or render aid, you have been involved in a hit and run accident. In Miami-Dade hit and run accidents are considered serious offenses and may have severe consequences. If you are involved in a hit and run accident, it is in your best interest to hire experienced legal representation. If you made a serious mistake and left the scene of an accident, or if you have been injured in a hit and run car accident, one of our skilled Miami car accident lawyers can protect the rights you have under the South Florida legal system.
It is a criminal charge under Florida law to leave the scene of an accident. If you are involved in an accident that causes only property damage and you fail to stop and exchange information you could face 2nd degree misdemeanor charges with a penalty of up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500. Leaving an accident with an injury can have you facing 3rd degree felony charges punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment and $10,000 in fines. Moreover your driver’s license will be revoked and you will be mandated to pay restitution to the other driver.
In stressful and traumatic situations people may act irrationally. If you have been involved in a hit and run accident, you need the experienced legal representation of a Miami hit & run car accident attorney. Our attorneys are happy to assist you 24/7. If you have any questions or concerns we can be reached at (888) 413-8353. The consultation is free! Furthermore, DRG Firm works on a contingency fee basis. That means we do not charge you if we do not recover.